Pixword 4 lettres Pixword 5 lettres Pixword 9 lettres Pixword 13 lettres Pixword 15 lettres pixword solution rapide Pixwords Lösungen
Your meter is watching you ! Reality or fantasy? | SmartFuture

Your meter is watching you ! Reality or fantasy?

Posted by on Jan 3, 2012 in Blog

Your meter is watching you. Reality or fantasy?

We can hear here and there that smart meters could be a breach into our private lives and that, especially through the analysis of electricity consumption, it would soon be possible to spy all our moves. Reality or fantasy?

Electricity meter manufacturers, an industry usually quiet, are in turmoil. In less than 10 years, more than 400 million smart meters will be installed around the world. It is a necessity for balance and management of transmission and distribution of electricity but also a challenge for an industry unknown of the general public.

Thus, the electrical meter, billing instrument hidden in the shadows of our basement, is poised to become a central communication gateway between consumers and utilities.

Like any new communication medium, it raises hopes, fears and finally fantasies.

What are the real communication capabilities of smart meters?

Smart meters include, besides the classical metering parts, an electronic communication component ensuring the transfer of measurement data to hubs located upstream of the network in substations. These long-range communications use physical layers like radio or PLC, IPv6 or proprietary transport layers and metering application profiles like Zigbee Smart Energy 2.0 or DLSM/COSEM.

These communication layers were primarily defined to meet the technical constraints of protocols, security and data rates set by energy operators and not at all according end users needs.

No wonder that, compared to some smart objects around us, like cellular phones or computers, these smart meters are very poor communicators:

  • very high latency of at least a few seconds.
  • bandwidth of a few kB/s (Linky G1, narrowband PLC) to tens of kB/s (Linky G3 or long range radio) in the best case.
  • built-in memory only for the storage of information such as tariffs, load curves recorded once a day, every hour or, at best, every 30 minutes for a few dozen curves a day and for a limited period of time.

When it comes to communication capability, the privacy threat therefore seems very weak. If we look in contrast to the data collected, the problem remains.

Indeed, except the question, still poorly addressed by legal authorities, of who owns the data and with what security, there is the problem of its exploitation. The fear that comes up most often is the belief that one could be able to determine the behavior of subscribers only by analyzing their load curves.

Let’s take a closer look.

If it is indeed possible to extract information from the load curve, like of course disaggregated consumption accumulated over a certain period of time, do not imagine predicting what people are exactly doing at a precise moment. Indeed, many usages such as heating, HVAC, refrigerators, are independent of the instantaneous behavior. And for those who reflect our actions, switching light in the first place, but also starting using some appliances, they are very difficult to detect in a load curve sampled every second and virtually impossible with a 30 minute sampling rate. In addition, a low energy profile does not mean you are not at home neither a high one means you are having a party with your friends !

In addition, current disaggregation algorithms use the whole 24 hours duration of the load curve and are therefore not suitable for real-time identification.

An black-hat hacker could one day hack your meter but will be quite unable, with only a load curve sampled every 30 minutes, to immediately determine your presence or your absence from home.

Conclusion: the fear of smart meters is more a fantasy due to the lack of information than a reality. Its denial, however, is real and is mainly due to the poor education programs delivered by utilities. The smart meters are often imposed to consumers and this without any actual perception of significant added values. This leads to fears, amalgams and exploitations by all types of opponents (the largest in bad faith is the so-called danger to the health of the radio waves emitted by PLC meters that produce, however, far less radiation than any cellular phone).

Finally, if the point is to raise the fear of being monitored, why not then discuss first the communication technologies we’re breathing in, such as smartphones or computers, which collect far more information about our privacy that will never be able to collect our electricity meter.

If you’re looking after Big Brother, don’t look in your electric meter; search first in your cell phone or in your computer.

Paul Bertrand*
SmartFuture.

* In early 2000, Paul was the first to develop and patent an algorithm of load curve disaggregation able to identify nearly 80% of the electricity consumption of housings.
This algorithm used a 24 hours load curve sampled every 0.5s.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Send Gmail

    2 Comments

  1. Hello Paul and happy new year to you! As for big brother peeking at the peaking, or looking through the glass as home usage, it is a task which can be done very inexpensively and quite formidably. The question is, who will want to do this? Power is like blood in the body, much can be revealed by deduction. The ACLU has its concerns, so does the public in many areas of the country (especially out in California). Regulation has not kept pace with the technology, so the wiggle room for abuse exists. But clearly stated a cell phone, or smartphone, or even your credit card is much more intrusive. I’d be glad to go into more detail off line at anyone’s convenience. C’est la vie! G Sorkin

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Twitter links powered by Tweet This v1.8.3, a WordPress plugin for Twitter.

Pixword 3 lettres Pixword 7 lettres Pixword 9 lettres Pixword 14 lettres Pixword 17 lettres solution pixwords PixWords Nápověda
Attention votre compteur électrique vous surveille ! | SmartFuture

Attention votre compteur électrique vous surveille !

Posted by on janv. 3, 2012 in Blog

Attention votre compteur électrique vous surveille !

On entend dire de plus en plus que les compteurs communicants constituent une intrusion dans notre vie privée et que, grâce notamment à l’analyse des consommations électriques,  il serait bientôt possible d’épier nos moindres mouvements.  Réalité ou fantasme ?

L’industrie, habituellement discrète, des fabricants de compteurs électriques est en ébullition. Dans moins de 10 ans c’est plus de 400 millions de compteurs communicants qui devraient être installés dans le monde. C’est une nécessité pour l’équilibre et la gestion des réseaux de transport et de distribution de l’électricité mais aussi un challenge pour des acteurs industriels du comptage souvent inconnus du grand public.

Ainsi, le compteur électrique, obscur instrument de facturation tapi dans l’ombre des sous-sols, est en passe de se transformer en acteur central de la communication entre les consommateurs et les fournisseurs d’énergie.

Comme tout nouveau vecteur de communication il suscite donc des espoirs, des peurs et finalement des fantasmes.

Quelles sont donc les possibilités réelles de communication des compteurs ?

Les compteurs communicants intègrent, outre la partie comptage classique,  un composant électronique de communication assurant le transfert de données de mesures vers des concentrateurs situés en amont du réseau dans les postes de transformation. Cette communication longue portée utilise des couches physiques soit CPL soit radio au dessus desquels ont été portées des couches de transport IPv6 ou propriétaires et des profils applicatifs dédiés au comptage comme DLSM/COSEM ou Zigbee Smart Energy 2.0 par exemple.

Ces couches de communication répondent principalement à des contraintes de protocoles, de sécurité et de débits fixées par les besoins des opérateurs d’énergie et pas du tout en fonction des besoins des clients finaux.

Rien d’étonnant donc à ce que, comparés aux objets qui nous entourent, mobiles ou ordinateurs, ces compteurs soient de bien piètres communicants :

  • latence très élevée de plusieurs secondes.
  • bande passante de quelques de ko/s (Linky G1, CPL bande étroite) à quelques dizaines de ko/s (Linky G3 ou radio longues portées) dans le meilleur des cas.
  • mémoire intégrée permettant uniquement le stockage d’informations telles que des tarifs applicables, des courbes de charge relevées une fois par jour, au pas horaire ou, au mieux, au pas de 30 minutes à raison de quelques dizaines de courbes par jour pendant des durées limitées.

La menace d’intrusion dans la vie privée paraît donc bien faible si on se limite au seul  aspect puissance de communication. Si l’on s’attache en revanche aux données recueillies, le problème demeure.

En effet, outre la question, encore peu traitée par les instances légales, de la propriété et de la sécurité des données, se pose le problème de leur exploitation. La crainte qui revient le plus souvent à ce sujet repose sur la croyance que l’on serait capable de déterminer le comportement des abonnés uniquement en analysant leurs courbes de charges.

Qu’en est-il vraiment ?

S’il est en effet possible de tirer des informations de la courbe de charge, comme naturellement des consommations détaillées intégrées sur une certaine durée,  il ne faut pas imaginer lui faire dire ce que les habitants sont précisément en train de faire à un instant précis.  En effet, de nombreux usages comme le chauffage, l’air conditionné, la ventilation, les réfrigérateurs, sont indépendants du comportement instantané. Quand à ceux qui en sont le reflet, l’éclairage au premier chef, mais aussi la mise en route de certains appareils ménagers, ils sont très difficiles à discriminer en aveugle dans une courbe de charge échantillonnée au pas de 1s et virtuellement impossibles au pas de 30 minutes.  Ajoutons que les algorithmes actuels de désagrégation utilisent l’ensemble de la courbe de charge à l’échelle de plusieurs heures et ne sont donc pas adaptés à une identification en temps réel.

Un hacker malveillant capable de pirater votre compteur sera bien incapable, avec la seule courbe de charge au pas de 30 minutes comme information, de déterminer immédiatement votre présence ou votre absence du domicile.

En outre, pour compliquer l’affaire, une basse consommation n’implique pas nécessairement que la maison est inoccupée et à l’inverse, une forte consommation ne veut pas forcément dire que la fête bat son plein chez vous !

Conclusion : la peur du compteur communicant relève plus du fantasme dû au manque d’information que de la réalité objective. Son rejet par le grand public, en revanche, est bien réel et provient essentiellement des mauvais plans de communication prévus par les acteurs de l’énergie. Les compteurs communicants sont souvent imposés aux consommateurs et ce sans aucune réelle contrepartie perçue. Cela conduit à des peurs, à des amalgames et à des récupérations par tous types d’opposants (la plus grosse preuve de mauvaise foi étant le soi-disant danger pour la santé des ondes radio émises par les compteurs CPL qui émettent pourtant infiniment moins de rayonnement que le moindre téléphone portable).

Enfin, quitte à agiter la peur d’être surveillés,  pourquoi ne pas évoquer d’abord les technologies de communication qui nous entourent, comme Internet ou les smartphones, qui collectent infiniment plus d’informations sur notre vie privée que ne pourra jamais le faire notre compteur électrique.

Big Brother ne se cache pas dans votre compteur électrique ; cherchez le plutôt dans votre téléphone portable ou dans votre ordinateur.

 

Paul Bertrand*

SmartFuture.

*Dès les années 2000, Paul a été l’un des premiers à développer et breveter un algorithme de désagrégation de la courbe de charge permettant d’identifier près de 80 % de la consommation électrique d’un logement.

Cet algorithme utilisait la courbe de charge sur 24 h échantillonnée à 0,5s.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Send Gmail

    2 Comments

  1. Hello Paul and happy new year to you! As for big brother peeking at the peaking, or looking through the glass as home usage, it is a task which can be done very inexpensively and quite formidably. The question is, who will want to do this? Power is like blood in the body, much can be revealed by deduction. The ACLU has its concerns, so does the public in many areas of the country (especially out in California). Regulation has not kept pace with the technology, so the wiggle room for abuse exists. But clearly stated a cell phone, or smartphone, or even your credit card is much more intrusive. I’d be glad to go into more detail off line at anyone’s convenience. C’est la vie! G Sorkin

Post a Reply

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Twitter links powered by Tweet This v1.8.3, a WordPress plugin for Twitter.